19 make Chancellor’s Exceptional Researchers List 2019

19 make Chancellor’s Exceptional Researchers List 2019


Nineteen (19) faculty members of Covenant have made the Chancellor’s Exceptional Researchers List of the University for the year 2019.

The Chancellor’s Exceptional Researchers List is the holy grail of Covenant faculty, who through their research efforts had been exceptional in their contributions toward the University’s attainment of her vision to become one of the top 10 universities in the world by 2022 (Vision 10:2022).

The criterion for making the 2019 list, according to the Covenant Management, was for those who aspired to make the Chancellor’s exceptional researchers list to have not less than 20 publications in Scopus for the year 2019 as at January 20, 2020.

Dr Isaac Fayomi of the Department of Mechanical Engineering led the group of 19 Chancellor’s Exceptional Researchers with a whopping 98 publications. His research interests include Materials science, Mechanical Metallurgy, and Advanced Surface Engineering with Nanocomposite Multifunctional Fabrication of Alloys.

Next was Dr Moses Emetere of the Department of Physics, whose interest in Multidisciplinary Modelling earned him 76 publications. He was closely followed by Professor Esther Akinlabi of the Mechanical Engineering Department with 64 publications. Professor Akinlabi’s research interests are Laser-based Additive Manufacturing, Friction Stir Welding, Surface Coating and Renewable Energy.

Other faculty from Mechanical Engineering on the list are Professor Roland Loto, Professor Oluseyi Ajayi, Dr Stephen Akinlabi, Engr. Imhade Okokpujie, Professor Cleophas Loto, Professor Sunday Oyedepo, Dr. Abiodun Abioye, Dr Sunday Afolalu, and Professor Olayinka Ohunakin.

Also in the list dominated by faculty from the Mechanical Engineering Department were Professor Sanjay Misra of the Department of Electrical and Information Engineering (EIE), Dr Emmanuel Okoro (Petroleum Engineering), Dr Theophilus Adagunodo (Physics), Professor AAA. Atayero (EIE), Dr Mojisola Usikalu (Physics), Dr Hilary Okagbue (Mathematics), and Dr Samuel Sanni (Chemical Engineering).

Interesting to note that these exceptional faculty (making up approximately 3.89% of all faculty) contributed 721 (52.06%) of the 1,388 publications by Covenant indexed in Scopus for 2019.

A breakdown of the exceptionals’ contribution by discipline indicated that Engineering accounts for 80.03% of the 721 publications; Physics = 17.20%; while Mathematics accounts for 2.77% each.

A breakdown by departments shows: Mechanical Engineering = 62.55%; Physics = 17.20%; Electrical and Information Engineering = 10.82%; Petroleum Engineering = 3.88%; Chemical Engineering = 2.77%; and Mathematics = 2.77%.

Chancellor and Chairman, Board of Regents, Covenant University, Dr. David O. Oyedepo

Chancellor and Chairman, Board of Regents, Covenant University, Dr. David O. Oyedepo