Dr. Usikalu Wins Elsevier Foundation Award

Dr. Usikalu Wins Elsevier Foundation Award

Dr. Usikalu Wins Elsevier Foundation Award

Dr. (Mrs.) Moji Usikalu, (2nd L) with other awardees

Dr. Mojisola Usikalu is one of the young faculty at Covenant University with many achievements. Award winning has become her second nature even as she was recently named among five winner of the 2015 Elsevier Foundation Award for Women Scientists in the Developing World.

The Elsevier Foundation provides grants to institutions around the world, focusing on support for world libraries and for scholars in the early stages of their careers.

Dr. Usikalu, a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Physics in the University, specialises in Radiation and Health Physics. She received the Elsevier Foundation award for research on how radiation affects health, finding that exposure to microwave radiation, for example, can increase anxiety and reduce sperm counts in animals.

Just like other entries from around the world, Dr. Usikalu submitted 19 papers (her first 10 and nine others) and trusted God for the best. She was not disappointed as her papers met all the criteria of excellence, exposure, collaboration, good citation and researcher’s productivity.

She attributed her success in the Awards to “Divine Favour”, considering her selection as one of the five, out of thousands of entries from Women in Physics and Mathematics from the developing world. “It’s just the God factor. It’s just the hand of God and not hard work alone”, she explained.

She sees the award as an encouragement and reward. According to her, this means “People are watching and they still reward hard work.”

Dr. Mojisola Usikalu graduated from Federal University of Technology Akure with B.Tech Degree in Physics and M.Tech Degree in Radiation and Health Physics in 2001 and 2005 respectively. She earned a PhD from Covenant University, Ota in 2010. Usikalu is a corporate member of the Nigerian Institute of Physics and Radiation Research Society.

She is a recipient of some awards/scholarships including IUPAP 2010 travel grant and TWOWS 2007-2010 postgraduate award tenable in the Institute of Modern Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Lanzhou, China. Recently, she received TWAS-UNESCO Associateship Award tenable at iThemba Labs, South Africa and International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP), Trieste Italy Junior Associate Award, among others.