Members Pledge Dedication to Duty as VC Inaugurates More Committees

Members Pledge Dedication to Duty as VC Inaugurates More Committees


The Vice-Chancellor of Covenant University, Professor AAA. Atayero, has inaugurated three more standing committees for the 2016-2017 Academic Session, with members of the committees vowing to discharge their duties to the best of their abilities.

Professor Atayero, who had previously inaugurated 19 similar committees, announced the new ones as the Staff and Disciplinary Committee, the Quality and Academic Standards Committee and the Prizes and Awards Committee at a brief inauguration ceremony held on Friday, September 9, 2016 inside the Senate Chambers of the university.

The VC had in his remarks at the occasion, which had the Registrar, Pastor Olamide Olusegun, Deans of Colleges and other key officers in attendance, said the event was to wrap up what was started, adding that members of the new committees have been found as worthy vessels to be used in accomplishing set tasks for the academic session.

Making a formal presentation of the different committees, the Registrar, Pastor Olamide Olusegun announced Professor Amos Alao as Chairman of the Staff Disciplinary Committee; Professor Isaiah Olurinola, Chairman of the Quality and Academic Standards Committee; and Professor Gbolahan Oni, Chairman of the Prizes and Awards Committee.

Professor Olurinola, who gave an acceptance speech on behalf of members of the three committees, thanked the University for finding them worthy of service and promised that they will do all within their capacity to carry out the terms of reference. He, however, requested for the support of the Management in the provision of all the things necessary for the committees to discharge their duties seamlessly.