Nigerian Academy of Science in CU for New Generation Scientist

Nigerian Academy of Science in CU for New Generation Scientist

Nigerian Academy of Science in CU for New Generation Scientist

Vice-Chancellor, Covenant University, Professor Charles K. Ayo making his remarks at the meeting

The Executive Secretary, Nigerian Academy of Science (NAS), Dr. Doyin Odubanjo, has stated the importance of bridging the gap between the old and new generation scientists.

Dr. Odubanjo declared this during a courtesy visit of the Nigerian Academy of Science to Covenant University, on Friday, February 14, 2014. He said there was need to sensitize the young generation of scholars to take interest in the study of science.

The graduate of Pediatrics and Child Health noted that his visit to Covenant University, though a preliminary one, was targeted at ensuring that NAS partners with the University to groom a new generation of scientists through the instrumentality of the Young Academy of Science.

In his remarks, the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Charles Ayo, appreciated the visit of Nigerian Academy of Science to the University. According to him, he believed the visit would stimulate a partnership between Covenant University and NAS, taking into cognizance the fact that the strength of the University is in the science and technology domain.

Professor Ayo stated that while Covenant University looked forward to the proposed future visit of the Academy the Management of the University would be ready to collaborate with the Nigerian Academy of Science in whatever capacity it can.

He concluded by admonishing the Nigerian Academy of Science to use her channel of communication with government regulatory agencies to make the Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFUND) accessible not just to Federal and State-owned institutions, but also to private institutions.

According to him, all academic institutions in the country are working towards ensuring that Nigeria becomes great and attains her position in the comity of nations.

Some members of Management present at the meeting were the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), Professor Aaron Atayero, the Registrar, Mr. Olumuyiwa Oludayo, Dean, College of Science and Technology, Professor Cleophas Loto, Head, Department of Biological Sciences, Dr. Israel Afolabi, Programme Coordinator, Bio Chemistry, Dr. Humphrey Adebayo, Director, Financial Services, Pastor Deji Okubanjo, and Director, Centre for Systems and Information Services, Pastor Abolade Afolabi.

The Nigerian Academy of Science was founded in 1977, but has become very active in the last 12 years through galvanizing scientific activities in the nation’s tertiary institutions and the private sector.

Click here for more images.